> smcta.com > About > Media Relations > News > Transportation Authority Announces Shuttle Program Funding

Transportation Authority Announces Shuttle Program Funding

Transportation Authority Announces Shuttle Program Funding


At its May meeting Thursday, the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (TA) Board of Directors approved $8.5 million in funding for the San Mateo County Shuttle Program. On May 14, the City and County Association of Governments (C/CAG) will vote on contributing $1 million to the program.

Shuttle routes were proposed by a range of cities and public agencies in San Mateo County following part of a joint Call for Projects (CFP) by the TA and C/CAG in January of this year.

Thirty-four applications were submitted, with 30 being considered for funding by an evaluation panel made up of representatives from the TA, C/CAG, SamTrans, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority and Stanford University Transportation Services. The routes selected were scored for need, readiness, sustainability and effectiveness.

Of the $8.5 million approved, over $5 million of the TA funds have already been collected through Measure A. The remainder will become available over the course of the next two fiscal years.

The TA has been funding shuttles through Measure A funds since 2002, when it started routes serving Caltrain stations. The TA has had a great deal of success with funding shuttle services, which provide first/last mile connections to transit hubs and give commuters in areas that can’t support a fixed bus route an additional mobility option. The shuttle program currently carries more than 1.1 million riders annually.

All TA shuttles are open to the public and many operate free of charge to riders. Shuttle schedules vary according to route and are listed at http://www.samtrans.com/schedulesandmaps/shuttles.html.


About the Transportation Authority (TA): Created to administer Measure A, San Mateo County’s ½ cent sales tax, the TA provides funding for transportation projects and programs in San Mateo County. In 2004, more than 75 percent of San Mateo County voters reauthorize Measure A for an additional 25 years. In 2018, voters approved Measure W, the San Mateo County Congestion Relief Plan an additional ½ cent sales tax. The TA will administer half the revenue of Measure W and the San Mateo County Transit District will administer the other half to fund and implement the Congestion Relief Plan.    

Follow the Transportation Authority on Facebook and Twitter.

Free translation assistance is available. Para traducción llama al 1.800.660.4287; 如需翻譯,請電 1.800.660.4287.



Media Contact: Dan Lieberman, 650-508-6385