> smcta.com > About > Media Relations > News > Transportation Authority Swears in Members, Elects Officers

Transportation Authority Swears in Members, Elects Officers

Transportation Authority Swears in Members, Elects Officers


The San Mateo County Transportation Authority (TA) swore in four directors at its board meeting on January 7. The TA also elected its chair and vice-chair for this year.

Two of the directors were reappointed after previously serving on the TA Board. Two others join the board as new directors.

Don Horsley and Mary Ann Nihart are the two returning board members. Horsley, a member of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, was reappointed to represent that body on the TA Board. Nihart, a Pacifica City Councilmember, was reelected by the City Selection Committee to the TA Board as a representative for Cities-at-Large of San Mateo County. In 2015, she served the final year of a term vacated by Naomi Patridge.

The two new directors joining the TA Board are Ken Ibarra and Maureen Freschet. Ibarra, a San Bruno Councilmember, was elected by the City Selection Committee to represent Northern Judicial Cities on the TA Board. Freschet, a San Mateo City Councilmember, was appointed by the City Selection Committee to represent Central Judicial Cities.

Along with swearing in its members, the TA Board elected its officers for 2016. Carole Groom was elected as chair of the board for this year, and Horsley was elected as vice-chair.

The TA is governed by a seven-person board of elected officials. Four members represent cities of San Mateo County, two members represent the county’s Board of Supervisors, and one member represents the San Mateo County Transit District. Board members serve two-year terms.

The TA administers Measure A, the 2004 voter-approved half-cent sales tax that is dedicated toward transportation and infrastructure improvement projects in San Mateo County.


About the TA: Created to administer Measure A, San Mateo County’s ½ cent sales tax, the Transportation Authority provides funding for transportation and infrastructure improvement projects. In 2004, more than 75 percent of San Mateo County residents voted to reauthorize Measure A for an additional 25 years.





Media Contact: Will Reisman, 650-508-7704