> smcta.com > About > Media Relations > News Archive > Transportation Authority Elects Officers

Transportation Authority Elects Officers

Transportation Authority Elects Officers

The San Mateo County Transportation Authority, which manages local transportation tax funds created by Measure A, unanimously elected Karyl Matsumoto as chair of its board of directors. Matsumoto is the SamTrans Board representative and the mayor of South San Francisco.

David Canepa was unanimously elected vice-chair of the TA board.  He is also the mayor of Daly City. Matsumoto and Canepa were elected at the TA board meeting on January 9.

The TA board is comprised of seven individuals. Two members on the body represent the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, four members geographically represent cities from San Mateo County, and one member represents SamTrans.

To learn more about the TA board go to https://www.smcta.com/about/boardofdirectors.html


About the TA: Created to administer Measure A, San Mateo County’s ½ sales tax, the Transportation Authority provides funding for transportation and infrastructure improvement projects. In 2004, more than 75 percent of San Mateo County residents voted to reauthorize Measure A for an additional 25 years.