TA CORRESPONDENCE

as of 9/20/2019

DON HORSLEY, CHAIR EMILY BEACH, VICE CHAIR MAUREEN FRESCHET CAROLE GROOM CARLOS ROMERO KARYL MATSUMOTO RICO E. MEDINA

JIM HARTNETT

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR



September 18, 2019

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor of California State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: SB 277 (Beall): REQUEST FOR SIGNATURE

Dear Governor Newsom:

On behalf of the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (SMCTA), I am writing to respectfully request your signature on SB 277 (Beall), which codifies the expectations of Californians who supported increased transportation revenues generated by SB 1, and who also pay additional local sales taxes to fund local transportation priorities. SB 277 clarifies the Legislature's original intent when implementing the Local Partnership Program (LPP).

San Mateo County is proud to be a member of the Self-Help Counties Coalition (SHCC), 24 counties in the state that provide more than 80 percent of all transportation funding. SB 1, with the inclusion of the LPP, provides a reliable source of funding to those counties committed to investing in our state's infrastructure. SB 277 will ensure the will of the legislature and voting public is adhered to when funding is distributed from the LPP.

Returning the LPP to its roots as a majority formula-based program will ensure that local voters can see tangible returns from the state on projects they prioritized for their communities. Strict accountability provisions administered by each SHCC agency receiving funds will ensure that taxpayer dollars are being used according to the voter's approval.

Additionally, SB 277 will result in a reduction of the overhead costs often associated with writing and reviewing grant applications.

For these reasons, we support SB 277 and respectfully ask for your signature.

Sincerely

Executive Director

cc: Ronda Pascahl, Deputy Legislative Secretary
The Honorable Marc Berman, Assembly Member, 24th District
The Honorable Jerry Hill, Senator, 13th District
The Honorable Kevin Mullin, Assembly Member, 22nd District
The Honorable Philip Ting, Assembly Member 19th District
The Honorable Scott Wiener, Senator, 11th District
The SMCTA Board of Directors