New Board Member Welcomed by Transportation Authority

The San Mateo County Transportation Authority Board welcomed David Canepa as its newest member at its meeting yesterday. 

The City Selection Committee selected Canepa, Vice Mayor of Daly City, to fill the North County seat vacated by retired Brisbane Councilmember Sepi Richardson.

“It is a privilege and an honor to represent the cities of northern San Mateo County,” said Canepa. “I look forward to working with my fellow TA board members to reduce congestion and improve transportation for people living and working here.”

The TA is governed by seven board members: two represent the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors, three are selected by the City Selection Committee to represent the three judicial divisions in the County, one is an at-large representative and one is a member of the San Mateo County Transit District Board of Directors.

The TA is responsible for administering Measure A, a half-cent sales tax used to fund transportation projects and programs in San Mateo County.          

The TA board regularly meets the first Thursday of the month at 5 p.m. at 1250 San Carlos Ave. in San Carlos.


Media Contact: Christine Dunn, 650.508.6238